Tekne Award Finalists

Tekne award finalists were announced September 17th at our networking event hosted by Robins Kaplan Miller & Ciresi.  Three finalists were honored in each of the twelve Tekne Award categories: Tekne Award finalists represent the best and brightest in technological innovation, development, commercialization and management in Minnesota.


2014 Tekne Awards Finalists

The Advanced Manufacturing Award honors technological innovation in the manufacturing process to increase speed and accuracy and reduce costs while minimizing environmental impact. Finalists are: 3M (St. Paul), H.B. Fuller (St. Paul) and T3 Scientific LLC (Blaine).
The Agriculture and Food Award honors technological advances in agriculture operations that enhance productivity and efficiency, improve environmental sustainability or contribute to food safety. The finalists are: Ecolab (St. Paul), Garden Fresh Farms (Maplewood) and Feedlogic (Willmar).
The Collaboration for Community Impact Award recognizes a collaboration or partnership that demonstrates leadership, dedication and excellence in delivering an innovation to Minnesota while meeting an unmet community need. This product, service or innovative technology could assist an underserved population or community, enhance the quality of life, health or safety for the community at large, or promote an innovative job creation strategy. Finalists are: Clockwork Active Media and Code Savvy (Minneapolis), The Works Museum and The Minnesota Department of Education (Bloomington and Roseville) and Bankcard Services, TIES and Arux Software (St. Paul, Falcon Heights and Woodbury).
The Cyber Security Award recognizes innovative products or services that secure networks, computers or systems from unintended or unauthorized access. These include, but are not limited to; identity management products or services, trusted authentication and verification processes. Finalists are: Adventium Labs (Minneapolis), Code42 (Minneapolis) and TransAuth (New Brighton).

The Education Technology Award honors innovations that measurably improve student learning and academic performance in the classroom. This includes the development of educational games, learning apps for mobile devices, innovative approaches to distance learning or student project assignments that engage students with core curriculum via technology. Finalists are: Adventium Labs (Minneapolis), Awear Technologies (Pine City) and Convent of the Visitation School (Mendota).

The Energy Award honors innovations that enhance efficiency of energy usage or delivery, reduce environmental impact and encourage energy conservation. Finalists are: Ecolab (St. Paul), Minnesota Community Solar (Minneapolis) and RA Knowledge (Minneapolis).
The Healthcare Award honors innovative development or deployment of medical devices, diagnostics or equipment, disease treatment or pharmaceuticals that measurably improve patient care delivery, reduce recovery times or improve patient health. Finalists are: Monteris Medical Corporation (Plymouth), Starkey Hearing Technologies (Eden Prairie) and Zimmer Spine (Minneapolis).
The IT Services Award recognizes the contributions of technology service providers whose creative approaches to business solutions streamline client processes, reduce customer costs, shorten time to marketing and/or increase service capacity or customer access through technology. Finalists are: Delta Air Lines (Eagan), FieldSolutions (Minnetonka) and Thomson Reuters (Eagan).
The Software Award honors innovation in software development or applications for business or consumer use. Established company finalists are: Help Systems (Eden Prairie), Honeywell (Golden Valley) and SPS Commerce (Minneapolis). Small and growing company finalists are: Avionte (Eagan), Barometer (Minneapolis) and Calabrio (Minneapolis).
The Startup Award recognizes an early-stage Minnesota technology company with commercialized products that demonstrates significant potential, creativity and a promising future. The company must be less than three years old, have one to 30 employees and generate revenue. The finalists are: Gravie (Minneapolis), NimbeLink (Plymouth) and NxThera (Maple Grove).

The Workforce Development Award honors innovative approaches to training workers in transition or youth with technology skills and successfully matching them to jobs that meet the needs of Minnesota companies. Finalists are: Creating IT Futures Foundation (Downers, IL), Genesis 10 (St. Paul) and the Biotechnology Program of Minneapolis Community and Technical College (Minneapolis)