Celebrating Fifteen Years of Minnesota’s Technological Innovators

September 17, 2014
Tekne Awards Logo

Minnesota High Tech Association announces finalists for the 2014 Tekne Awards, held Nov. 13 at the Minneapolis Convention Center

MINNEAPOLIS, Sept. 17, 2014 — For years, Minnesota-based companies have continued to invent, develop and implement technological innovations to meet the needs of people all over the globe. This evening, the Minnesota High Tech Association (MHTA) announced the 36 finalists for the 15th annual Tekne Awards, which will be held on Thursday, Nov. 13 at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

Finalists will gather to be recognized for their vast achievements in the state’s tech-based economy. The 36 finalists span twelve categories that recognize organizations, products and leaders that are driving technological innovation locally. The Tekne Awards honor those who have played a part in discovering new technologies that impact the lives and futures of people living in Minnesota and all over the world.

"For fifteen years, the MHTA has honored the technological innovators of Minnesota," said Margaret Anderson Kelliher, president of MHTA. "We're delighted to see such a fantastic display of technological advancements this year, and are proud to shine a light on our state’s outstanding science and technology industry."

The 2014 Tekne Awards program will begin with VIP registration and a reception at 4:30 p.m., followed by general registration and cocktails at 5 p.m. Dinner will be served at 5:45 p.m., with the awards ceremony beginning at 7 p.m. Paul Douglas, meteorologist, author and entrepreneur, will emcee the event.

To register for the 2014 Tekne Awards program, visit http://tekneawards.cmhehre.com or contact Angela McLaughlin at 952-230-4552 or angelam@mhta.org.

Categories and finalists for the 2014 Tekne Awards are:

The Advanced Manufacturing Award honors technological innovation in the manufacturing process to increase speed and accuracy and reduce costs while minimizing environmental impact. Finalists are: 3M (St. Paul), H.B. Fuller (St. Paul) and T3 Scientific LLC (Blaine).

The Agriculture and Food Award honors technological advances in agriculture operations that enhance productivity and efficiency, improve environmental sustainability or contribute to food safety. The finalists are: Ecolab (St. Paul), Garden Fresh Farms (Maplewood) and Feedlogic (Willmar).

The Collaboration for Community Impact Award recognizes a collaboration or partnership that demonstrates leadership, dedication and excellence in delivering an innovation to Minnesota while meeting an unmet community need. This product, service or innovative technology could assist an underserved population or community, enhance the quality of life, health or safety for the community at large, or promote an innovative job creation strategy. Finalists are: Clockwork Active Media and Code Savvy (Minneapolis), The Works Museum and The Minnesota Department of Education (Bloomington and Roseville) and Bankcard Services, TIES and Arux Software (St. Paul, Falcon Heights and Woodbury).

The Cyber Security Award recognizes innovative products or services that secure networks, computers or systems from unintended or unauthorized access. These include, but are not limited to; identity management products or services, trusted authentication and verification processes. Finalists are: Adventium Labs (Minneapolis), Code42 (Minneapolis) and TransAuth (New Brighton).

The Education Technology Award honors innovations that measurably improve student learning and academic performance in the classroom. This includes the development of educational games, learning apps for mobile devices, innovative approaches to distance learning or student project assignments that engage students with core curriculum via technology. Finalists are: Adventium Labs (Minneapolis), Awear Technologies (Pine City) and Convent of the Visitation School (Mendota).

The Energy Award honors innovations that enhance efficiency of energy usage or delivery, reduce environmental impact and encourage energy conservation. Finalists are: Ecolab (St. Paul), Minnesota Community Solar (Minneapolis) and RA Knowledge (Minneapolis).

The Healthcare Award honors innovative development or deployment of medical devices, diagnostics or equipment, disease treatment or pharmaceuticals that measurably improve patient care delivery, reduce recovery times or improve patient health. Finalists are: Monteris Medical Corporation (Plymouth), Starkey Hearing Technologies (Eden Prairie) and Zimmer Spine (Minneapolis).

The IT Services Award recognizes the contributions of technology service providers whose creative approaches to business solutions streamline client processes, reduce customer costs, shorten time to marketing and/or increase service capacity or customer access through technology. Finalists are: Delta Air Lines (Eagan), FieldSolutions (Minnetonka) and Thomson Reuters (Eagan).

The Software Award honors innovation in software development or applications for business or consumer use. Established company finalists are: Help Systems (Eden Prairie), Honeywell (Golden Valley) and SPS Commerce (Minneapolis). Small and growing company finalists are: Avointe (Eagan), Barometer (Minneapolis) and Calabrio (Minneapolis).

The Startup Award recognizes an early-stage Minnesota technology company with commercialized products that demonstrates significant potential, creativity and a promising future. The company must be less than three years old, have one to 30 employees and generate revenue. The finalists are: Gravie (Minneapolis), NimbeLink (Plymouth) and NxThera (Maple Grove).

The Workforce Development Award honors innovative approaches to training workers in transition or youth with technology skills and successfully matching them to jobs that meet the needs of Minnesota companies. Finalists are: Creating IT Futures Foundation (Downers, IL), Genesis 10 (St. Paul) and the Minneapolis Community and Technical College (Minneapolis).


The 2014 Tekne Awards are made possible by the generous support of its sponsors:

  • Platinum: Thomson Reuters; Optum
  • Gold: Delta Air Lines; Digital River; Ecolab; Software AG; PadillaCRT
  • VIP Reception: Viawest
  • Media Sponsor: Twin Cities Business magazine
  • Silver: Digineer; Minnesota Cup; Ameriprise Financial; AT&T; Computex Technology Solutions; Unisys; Accenture; Imation
  • Design Communications: Soulo Communications
  • Webcast Sponsor: Implex
  • Website Sponsor: Irish Titan
  • Production Sponsor: Main Point Media
  • Event Partner: LifeScience Alley


About Minnesota High Tech Association (MHTA)

MHTA is an innovation and technology association united in fueling Minnesota’s prosperity. We help bring together the people of Minnesota’s technology ecosystem and lead the charge in directing technology issues to Minnesota’s state capitol. MHTA is the only membership organization that represents Minnesota’s entire technology-based economy. MHTA members include organizations of every size − involved in virtually every aspect of technology creation, production, application and education in Minnesota. Find out more online at http://www.mhta.org or follow MHTA on Twitter at http://twitter.com/MHTA.

For more information:

Running sport media | 40 Ways to Wear a Leather Jacket in 2019 - Fashion Inspiration and Discovery