MHTA announces finalists for the 2015 Tekne Awards

September 25, 2015

MINNEAPOLIS, Sept. 25, 2015 To honor leading-edge innovation and the technological advancement of local companies, the Minnesota High Tech Association (MHTA) has announced 45 finalists for its annual Tekne Awards, which will be held on Wednesday, Nov. 18, at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

The Tekne Awards honor science and technology across 13 categories, including the Internet of Things, advanced manufacturing, cyber security and more. The 41 local finalists have gained recognition based on the progression of their organizations, products and services. Finalists will be honored among Minnesota’s most influential business, educational and government leaders for their contribution in fueling the state’s technological growth.

“Each year, MHTA seeks out companies and people leading the way in innovation in Minnesota,” said Margaret Anderson Kelliher, president and CEO of MHTA. “These advancements are changing the way people all over the world live and work, and the Tekne Awards recognize those achievements.”

Throughout the past six months, Minnesota has been ranked as the fastest-growing state for attracting technology jobs, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Minnesota was also recently ranked sixth in technology and innovation by CNBC.

The 16th annual Tekne Awards program will begin at 4:30 p.m. with a VIP registration and reception, followed by general registration and cocktails at 5 p.m. The awards ceremony will commence at 7 p.m., with a post-event reception at 8:30 p.m. WCCO anchor Amelia Santaniello will emcee the event.

For additional information, or to register for the 2015 Tekne Awards program, visit or contact Aly Roach at 952-230-4553 or

Categories and finalists for the 2015 Tekne Awards are:


The Advanced Manufacturing Award honors innovation in the manufacturing process to increase speed, accuracy and reduce costs while minimizing environmental impact. Finalists are: H.B. Fuller (Vadnais Heights), PaR Systems (Shoreview) and Seagate Technology | Savigent Software (Bloomington).


The Agriculture Technology & Food Safety Award honors technological advances in agricultural operations that enhance productivity and efficiency, improve environmental sustainability or contribute to food safety. Finalists are: Ecolab (St. Paul) and SelfEco (Stillwater).


The Applied Analytics Award honors innovative applications for turning data driven insights into improved business processes or outcomes. Examples include digital marketing, customer experience mapping, predictive innovation, identifying new revenue opportunities, retail applications, etc. Finalists are: Delaget (Eden Prairie), Ecolab (St. Paul) and Reeher (St. Paul).


The Collaboration for Community Impact Award recognizes a collaboration or partnership that demonstrates leadership, dedication and excellence in delivering an innovation to Minnesota while meeting an unmet community need. This product, service or innovative technology could assist an underserved population or community, enhance quality of life, health or safety for the community at large, or promote an innovative job creation strategy. Finalists are: Minnesota Compass (St. Paul), Minnesota Department of Veteran Affairs (St. Paul) and the University of Minnesota (Minneapolis).


The Cyber Security Award recognizes innovative products or services that secure networks, computers, or systems from unintended or unauthorized access. These include, but are not limited to, identity management products or services, trusted authentication, disaster recovery, computer forensics, and verification processes. Finalists are: PowerTech (Eden Prairie), SkyView Partners (Minneapolis) and TransAuth (Minneapolis).


The Education Technology Award honors innovations that measurably improve student learning and academic performance in the classroom. This includes the development of educational games, learning apps for mobile devices, innovative approaches to distance learning, or student project assignments that engage students with core curriculum via technology. Finalists are: Capella University (Minneapolis), JAMF Software (Minneapolis) and South Central College (North Mankato).


The Energy and Clean Tech Award honors innovations that enhance efficiency of energy usage or delivery, reduce environmental impact, and encourage energy conservation. Finalists are: H.B. Fuller (Vadnais Heights), IrriGreen (Edina) and Xcel Energy (Minneapolis).


The Healthcare Award honors innovative development or deployment of medical devices, diagnostics or equipment, data management, communication systems integration, disease treatment, or pharmaceuticals that measurably improves patient care delivery, reduces recovery times, or improves patient health. Finalists are: American Medical Systems (Minnetonka), Mayo Clinic (Rochester) and Medtronic (Fridley). Small and growing company finalists are: Ativa Medical Corporation (St. Paul), Imbio (Minneapolis) and Rebiotix Inc. (Roseville).


The IT Services Award recognizes the contributions of technology service providers whose creative approaches to business solutions streamline client processes, reduce customer costs, shorten time to marketing and/or increase service capacity or customer access through technology. Finalists are: Field Nation (Minneapolis), PeopleNet (Minnetonka) and Thomson Reuters (Eagan).


The Internet of Things Award honors the development of Internet of Things solutions that add increased efficiency and enhanced value to clients and customers. Finalists are: Digi International (Minnetonka), Logic PD (Minneapolis) and Zivix (Golden Valley).


The Software Award honors innovation in software development or applications that enhance productivity and efficiency for business or consumer use. Finalists are: Blue Cross Blue Shield (Eagan), Digital River (Minnetonka) and Unisys (Roseville). Small and growing company finalists are: Apex Revenue Technologies (Little Canada), MedNet Solutions (Minnetonka) and Quantum Retail (Minneapolis).


The Startup Award honors an early-stage Minnesota technology company with commercialized products that demonstrates significant potential, creativity, and a promising future. The company must be less than three years old, have one to 30 employees and generate revenues. Finalists are: Learn to Live (Minneapolis), MyMeds (Minneapolis) and Upsie (Minneapolis).


The Workforce Development Award honors innovative approaches to training workers in transition or youth with technology skills and successfully matching them to jobs that meet the needs of Minnesota companies. Finalists are: Genesys Works (St. Paul), Prime Digital Academy (Bloomington) and Rêve Academy (Minneapolis).

About Minnesota High Tech Association (MHTA)

MHTA is an innovation and technology association united in fueling Minnesota’s prosperity. We help bring together the people of Minnesota’s technology ecosystem and lead the charge in directing technology issues to Minnesota’s state capitol. MHTA is the only membership organization that represents Minnesota’s entire technology-based economy. MHTA members include organizations of every size − involved in virtually every aspect of technology creation, production, application and education in Minnesota. Find out more online at or follow MHTA on Twitter at